Tel: +61 2 95663100 | Contact

AMSRS Board and Divisional Committees

The Board

President Vicki Arbes
Vice-President Tiina Raikko
Gail Thomson
General Board Member
Susan Bell
General Board Member Simon Edwards
General Board Member Peter Harris
General Board Member
Lyndall Spooner
Elissa Molloy - AMSRS CEO

Vicki Arbes - PhD, MAPS, QPR, Fellow AMSRS

Vicki has been involved with the AMSRS since she started in the industry over 30 years ago and became a Fellow of the Society in 2006. Vicki has built and run a number of successful market research agencies, including Open Mind, Hall & Partners Open Mind and now Whereto Research, all of which have been AMSRO members. She has a particular interest in building and maintaining professional standards, and has a long involvement in the AMSRS training program. Vicki been a reviewer for the International Journal of Market Research for over 10 years, and has chaired and co-chaired two AMSRS conferences. She has spent a career trying to shake up the public image of market researchers as ‘interviewers with clip boards’ and to help position our industry as creative, dynamic and full of thought leaders Vicki came onto the AMSRS Board in 2016 specifically to help encourage top graduates into this exciting but under-appreciated industry.

Sue Bell

Sue heads the boutique agency Susan Bell Research which she established in 1994, conducting qualitative, quantitative and/or cultural insight projects for commercial and government clients. She is a Qualified Professional Researcher (QPR), a Fellow of the AMSRS and a Fellow of the Australian Marketing Institute (AMI). She holds a BA (Hons) in English and Linguistics, a Graduate Diploma in Psychology, a Marketing Diploma, and Certificates in Advanced Semiotics, and in social media research. Sue was the Chair of the IRG for many years, was Chair of the AMSRS Conference in 2005 and Conference committee member before that; NSW State Chair (and National Council member) from 2006 to 2010 and is currently a QPR assessor. Sue has long been a passionate advocate for qualitative research and has been a regular speaker at AMSRS training events, at the AMSRS Conference, and elsewhere.

Simon Edwards

Simon is the Research & Insights Lead for ANZ Bank. In this role, Simon leads the Research practice area for the bank covering areas such as Brand & Communications, Customer experience, Design Research and Market Intelligence. Simon’s brief at ANZ has been to lead a holistic research approach that takes into account long established research practices combined with Design Research practices to provide the comprehensive evidence bases required for innovation and transformation. Simon is particular interested in new proposition development and service design.

Simon has been working in financial services for 13 years, having lead the Insights Function at the Commonwealth bank and the Insights & Analytics function at Bankwest. Prior to client side roles, Simon has worked for market research companies such as ACNielsen in Media and Evalue working on customer experience programs. Simon first commenced his career in quantitative roles as a statistician.

Simon has an MBA from Macquarie University, a Social Science Degree from UNSW and serves on the Board of AMSRS.

Peter Harris

Peter is Executive Vice President and Managing Director, Asia Pacific, Vision Critical

Peter helps brands build authentic customer relationships through technology. Pioneering customer intelligence since 2010, Peter Harris has led Vision Critical Asia Pacific to become the largest customer intelligence software provider, supporting over 140 customer-led brands, in Asia Pacific such as Telstra, Westpac and Qantas. With deep roots in research and strategy, Peter has championed the future of research and technology across his leadership roles at prominent research organisations, including AMSRS, APRC and GRBN. Peter is an active Fellow of both the Australia Marketing Institute and Australian Market and Social Research Society. B.Comm, Qualified Professional Researcher (QPR), FAMSRS, FAMI.

Tiina Raikko

Tiina has spent over 27 years with blue chip organisations on both the agency and client side of research. She spent over 10 years in client service, most of that time with Yann Campbell Hoare Wheeler/Millward Brown, working across the government, consumer goods and services sectors. In 2003 she moved to Unilever where she was Director of Consumer Insight and Marketing Operations for Australasia before launching her own consultancy, Fuel, in 2009. Tiina has been an AMSRS member since 1992, has spent many years on the conference committee - 2017 as co-chair, judged REAs and chaired RICA’s Client Advisory Board for 4 years. Tiina joined the AMSRS Board in 2017 with the aim to work toward a successful merger with AMSRO. She is also keen to work with the Board to optimise value for members with a particular interest in building client and young researcher engagement with the society.

Lyndall Spooner - B.Sc., M.Com., QPR

Like many people I fell into market research more than twenty years ago. It wasn’t a conscious career choice, but it has become my only career choice and I’m very thankful for the serendipitous introduction. I started as a researcher within business and technology consulting firms before taking a role with a market research company in 2000, and then starting Fifth Dimension in 2006.

Over that time our industry has changed dramatically – not just from advances in technology, but to a fragmentation of research into several sub-industries that today often have a higher profile than market research. I am very passionate about our industry and I would like the opportunity to use my knowledge of consulting and technology, my networks, my research experience and passion for innovation and disruption, to drive a stronger profile for market research and regard for the skills and integrity of a market researcher. I believe we can push the boundaries of what everyone from university students to C-suite, and most importantly market researchers, believe that market research can deliver in terms of value.

Gail Thomson

Gail is currently Director of independent Melbourne-based research agency Reflections Research, which she established in July 2011. She has been part of the market and social research industry for over 25 years, having also held senior research positions client-side at Telstra and Ansett Australia and agency-side at swat marketing. Gail is a generalist researcher, offering her clients a range of secondary research, qualitative and quantitative services. She has extensive experience researching consumers and B2B markets in the not-for-profit and commercial sectors. She has also undertaken developmental research for public information and education campaigns on behalf of government agencies.

Gail is committed to making a contribution to the industry. She has served on various market and social research quality standards committees since 2000; she was National Treasurer between 2011 and 2016, Professional Standards Committee (PSC) member between 2014 and 2015 and PSC Chair between 2015 and 2018. Gail is currently a member of the QPR committee and was recently co-opted onto the Board as incoming Treasurer (from November 2018).

Gail is an AMSRS Fellow and has been a Qualified Professional Researcher (QPR) since its inception. She holds an MBA from the AGSM (Australian Graduate School of Management).